The Foundation manages and administers two awards.

The A. Bertram Chandler Award

In 1991 the Australian Science Fiction Foundation established the A. Bertram Chandler Award for “Outstanding Achievement in Australian Science Fiction”, in recognition of the contribution that science fiction writer A. Bertram Chandler made to Australian Science Fiction and to Australian fandom in general. It is Australia’s premier award for lifetime achievement in science fiction.

The Norma K. Hemming Award

The Norma K. Hemming Award is given to mark excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class and disability in a speculative fiction work (e.g. science fiction, fantasy, horror) by an individual author, published either in Australia or produced by Australian citizens in the preceding calendar year in which the award is given.