About the Foundation

P.O. Box 215, Forest Hill Vic 3131

Related image

The Australian Science Fiction Foundation (affectionately known as the Foundation) was formally established in 1976, partially to carry on the work of the 1975 Aussiecon, the first Australian World Science Fiction Convention. The Foundation was the nucleus for the successful Aussiecon II bid and its members worked, along with many others, to run the 1985 Worldcon in Melbourne. In March 1988, the Foundation became an incorporated association.

The ASFF sponsors and encourages the creation and appreciation of science fiction in Australia through a variety of activities that are funded by membership subscriptions and donations.

Help further the work of the ASFF; Join today.


Rose Mitchell President
LynC Membership Officer
Carey Handfield Treasurer & Public Officer
Vacant Administrative Secretary
Robin Johnson General Committee Member
David L Russell General Committee Member
James Allen General Committee Member /Chandler Award
Cath Ortlieb General Committee Member
Geoff Allshorn General Committee Member / Social Media Communications
Louise Sampson General Committee Member
Ion Newcombe Website Manager
Tehani Croft Norma K. Hemming Award Administrator
Van Ikin Agent – Academic Community
Jean Weber & Eric Lindsay Agents-at-large
Gillian Polack ACT
Gerald Smith NSW

Nebula Finalists Announced

2019 Nebula Award Finalists February 20, 2020 The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA, Inc.) announced the finalists for the 55th Annual Nebula Awards, including the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and the Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book. The awards will be presented in … Read more

Posted in News | Leave a comment

NAFF Nominations Open

The National Australian Fan Fund (NAFF) assists fans to travel across Australia to attend the Australian National Convention (Natcon) by covering the costs of airfare, accommodation and convention membership. Swancon 2020: Dark Visions (Natcon 59) is the 2020 Natcon! Do you have a friend in the Eastern States who would be a great convention attendee? … Read more

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Ditmar Nominations Open

Nominations for the 2020 Australian SF (“Ditmar”) awards are now open and will remain open until one minute before midnight Perth time on Sunday, 1st of March, 2020 (ie. 11.59pm, GMT+8). Postal nominations must be postmarked no later than Friday, 28th of February, 2020. The current rules, including Award categories can be found at: <https://wiki.sf.org.au/Ditmar_rules> … Read more

Posted in News | Leave a comment

AHWA Shadows Awards Submissions Open

The Australian Shadows Awards, awarded by the Australasian Horror Writers Association, are now open to submissions until March 31 2020. Open to authors from Australia, New Zealand and Oceania, works can be submitted to: <australianshadowsawards@gmail.com> Further details on the awards entry rules, categories, and eligibility can be found here: <https://australasianhorror.com/australian-shadows-awards/award-entry-rules/> News from: Greg Chapman and … Read more

Posted in News | Leave a comment

Worlds of Ursula K Le Guin – DVD Documentary

The Foundation received in the mail last week (for its efforts in providing a copy of the 1975 Aussiecon Guest of Honour Speech) a DVD copy of WORLDS OF URSULA K LE GUIN, a very fine 88-minute documentary by Arwen Curry of the life and work of Ursula. As if we didn’t know it already … Read more

Posted in News | Leave a comment