2019 Writers & Illustrators Of The Future Awards

The 2019 Writers of the Future Golden Pen Award:

  • Andrew Dykstal for the story, “Thanatos Drive”

The Illustrators of the Future Golden Brush Award:

  • Aliya Chen, illustration of Elise Stephens’s story, “Untrained Luck”

All winners received trophies, and Golden Awards winners were presented with cheques for $5,000.

All the winning stories and artwork are published in Writers of the Future Volume 35.

For more information or to enter the next competition, see the Writers of the Future website.

L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest is an opportunity for new writers of science fiction and fantasy to have their work judged by some of the masters in the field and be discovered by a wide audience.

No entry fee is required and entrants retain all publication rights.

Entries in the Writers of the Future Contest are adjudicated only by professional writers. Prizes of $1000, $750 and $500 are awarded every three months. From the four quarterly 1st Place winners each year, a panel of judges select one story as the grand prize winner. The writer of the grand-prize-winning story receives the L. Ron Hubbard Golden Pen Award and an additional $5000 cash prize.