ASFF Member Update

At the ASFF AGM held by Zoom in February 2021, several committee members stepped down and not many stepped up. The committee is currently in caretaker mode while we investigate a number of matters including the legalities of operating with only two executive members. The committee also seeks expressions of interest for the unfilled positions.


(Vacant) President

Louise Sampson, Membership Officer

Carey Handfield, Treasurer & Public Officer

(Vacant) Administrative Secretary

Gillian Polack, General Committee Member

Ion Newcombe, General Committee Member / Website Manager

James Allen, General Committee Member / Chandler Award

Cath Ortlieb, General Committee Member

Delegated Responsibilities:

(Vacant) Norma K. Hemming Award Administrator

(Vacant) Writing Competition Administrator

If you have any enquiries please contact: <>

Posted on behalf of:

Louise Zedda-Sampson
Membership Officer
Executive Committee
Australian Science Fiction Foundation


Carey Handfield
Treasurer & Public Officer
Executive Committee
Australian Science Fiction Foundation

Conflux 2021 “Visions of Time” is the Australian National Convention

Conflux is back again in 2021 with “Visions of Time” and this year it’s also the Aussie national spec fic convention!

Conflux is Canberra’s annual speculative fiction convention for both established writers and artists and those seeking a foundation in the industry.

As we adapt to the mad (Max) world that is our new formal, Conflux will spend three days over the weekend of October 2-4 2021 exploring the future of the speculative fiction industry.

(Dr.) Who will be there you ask? This year’s guest of honour is John Birmingham, author of He Died with a Felafel in His Hand and the Axis of Time trilogy, and our International guest of honour is multi-award winning Helen Marshall, known for her psychological suspense, horror and the dark fantastic.

Since Conflux 2021 is also the Australian National Science Fiction Convention it will include the Ditmar Award, which recognises achievement in Australian science fiction (including fantasy and horror) and science fiction fandom.

More information and memberships now available at the Conflux 2021 website <>.