Rose Mitchell: Fan Guest of Honour @ ConZealand 2020

Congratulations to Rose Mitchell, ASFF President, chosen to be Fan Guest of Honour at ConZealand 2020! Rose has been an avid fan of science fiction since young girl, but only discovered fandom and cons in the early nineties. Her involvement with science fiction fandom has concentrated on club activities, convention running and supporting Australian fan… Continue reading Rose Mitchell: Fan Guest of Honour @ ConZealand 2020

Continuum 15 “New Worlds” is Natcon 2019

Continuum 15, sub-titled “New Worlds” is to be the Australian National SF Convention for 2019.  The convention will be held on June 7 to June 10, 2019, at the Jasper Hotel, Elizabeth Street, Melbourne. Continuum is Melbourne’s annual fan-run speculative fiction and pop culture convention. Continuum celebrates creativity across genres and media.  Their aim each… Continue reading Continuum 15 “New Worlds” is Natcon 2019

Norma K Hemming Award Winners

The winners of the 2018 Norma K. Hemming Awards were announced June 8, 2018 at Continuum 14, in Melbourne. Short Fiction (stories up to 17,500 words) WINNER: “Coral Bones”, Foz Meadows (Monstrous Little Voices) “Induction”, Thoraiya Dyer (Bridging Infinity) “The Rock in the Water”, Thoraiya Dyer (Fantasy 12/16) “Braid”, Kirstyn McDermott (Review of Australian Fiction… Continue reading Norma K Hemming Award Winners

Vale Tony Plank

Tony Plank was a computer programmer, web designer, SF writer, active member of the Australian SF community and an all-round good guy. I first got to know Tony on-line via the Eidolist where he, Ted Scribner and I would often break into puns and light banter when the serious discussion got a bit heavy.  Tony… Continue reading Vale Tony Plank