Continuum Foundation Awards a “Gunny” for 2019

Photo by Cat Sparks

The Continuum Foundation announced joint winners, Julian Warner and Lucy Sussex of the special, rarely-given, Ian Gunn Memorial Award at Continuum 15, Natcon 58, at the opening ceremony on Friday June 7.

The Ian Gunn Memorial Award, or “Gunny”, is an irregular Victorian award, only given out on years when someone suitably deserving is put forward to the Continuum Foundation committee.

It recognises the ‘unsung heroes’ of fandom — people who consistently work in the background for no other reason than the work needs doing, and who never expect any recognition of their efforts.

Ian Gunn was good at noticing such people.

The trophy, designed by Lewis Morley, incorporated a plastic spaceman in memory of the many plastic spacemen hidden in other fans’ homes by Ian Gunn and Karen Pender-Gunn.

Congratulations Julian and Lucy!



Ditmar Award Winners 2019

Ditmar Winners 2019 – photo by Kat Clay via Cat Sparks’ Flickr Stream

Winners of the 2019 Ditmar Awards for Australian SF were announced at Continuum 15 (Natcon 58, the Aussie Natcon), on Saturday June 8, during the awards ceremony.

Best Novel

WINNER: City of Lies, Sam Hawke (Tor)
Devouring Dark, Alan Baxter (Grey Matter)
The Subjugate, Amanda Bridgeman (Angry Robot)
Faerie Apocalypse, Jason Franks (IFWG Australia)
The Beast’s Heart, Leife Shallcross (Hodder & Stoughton)
Tide of Stone, Kaaron Warren (Omnium Gatherum)

Read moreDitmar Award Winners 2019

2019 Norma K. Hemming Award Winners

The 2019 Norma K Hemming Award for excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in speculative fiction published in 2018, was presented on Saturday 8 June, 2019 at a ceremony at the Continuum convention in Melbourne.

In an exciting development, there was a tie in the Long Work category, with Sam Hawke’s City of Lies (Transworld / Tor) and Mother of Invention edited by Rivqa Rafael and Tansy Rayner Roberts (Twelfth Planet Press) shared the top honour.

Read more2019 Norma K. Hemming Award Winners

A. Bertram Chandler Award Winner 2019 – Alan Stewart

Alan Stewart – photo by Cat Sparks

The winner of the A Bertram Chandler Award for 2019 is ALAN STEWART.

Alan received his award at Continuum 15, Natcon 2019, in Melbourne, at the awards ceremony.

Alan Stewart believes he entered fandom in 1979. Since that inauspicious entry 40 years ago, Alan continuously been involved in a variety of fanac both in Australia and overseas.

Alan Stewart’s fannish reputation commands great respect. He is a man of quiet achievement, of modesty and geniality: always generous and good-natured with his time and resources.

Congratulations Alan.

Find the full citation for Alan Stewart right here at the ASFF website.

Necronomicon Australis Tour

Join S.T. Joshi in an evening of conversation and discussion on the works of H P Lovecraft and hear a performance by Edward Neeman & Eloise Fisher of Larry Sitsky’s Necronomicon.

Joshi is a leading authority on H. P. Lovecraft, Ambrose Bierce, H. L. Mencken, and other writers, mostly in the realms of supernatural and fantasy fiction.

Read moreNecronomicon Australis Tour

The ASFF At Continuum 15 (Natcon 58)

Continuum 15: Other Worlds is happening in Melbourne over the coming long weekend of June 7 till June 10. Bestselling novelist Kate Elliott and the award-winning writer and translator Ken Liu are this year’s Guests of Honour.

ASFF committee members Rose Mitchell, James Allen, and Geoff Allshorn will host “A Brief History of Post-Aussiecon Fandom – the 80s and 90s”. The panel will take place in the Barrayar Room on Friday June 7th, from 7pm – 8pm.

There will be a table for the Australian Science Fiction Foundation, shared with the Australian Fan Funds, in the Dealer’s Room.

Finally, the ASFF will present the 2019 A. Bertram Chandler Award and 2019 Norma K. Hemming Award during the Continuum Awards/Ditmars ceremony on Saturday 8 June, 2019 at the Jasper Hotel in Melbourne, from 4pm till 6pm. Entry is available through purchasing a Continuum membership or via a Ditmar Awards ticket.

National Australia Fan Fund Winner

The NAFF is administered by the ASFF to assist fans across Australia to make it to the annual National Australian Convention (Natcon). The winner of this year’s NAFF is Stephen Dedman. He will attend Continuum 15, held in Melbourne at the Jasper Hotel from Friday June 7 till Monday 10, 2019.

More information about NAFF winners is available at the NAFF site <>

Read moreNational Australia Fan Fund Winner

2019 Norma K Hemming Awards Presentation

The 2019 Norma K Hemming Awards will be presented during the Continuum Awards ceremony on Saturday 8 June, 2019.

Continuum is Melbourne’s annual fan run speculative fiction and pop culture convention. In 2019 the convention will be held over the Queen’s Birthday Long Weekend in June at Jasper Hotel, 489 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne.

The Awards ceremony will take place at 4pm on Saturday 8 June, in the Magrathea Room at the Jasper Hotel. All Continuum events are ticketed, and you must purchase a membership or event ticket to attend. Full weekend, day membership and individual event tickets are available.

To attend the Awards ceremony only (which also includes the annual Ditmar Awards, the Peter McNamara Award and Chandler Award presentations, in addition to the Norma) costs $20.00 per ticket.

View prices for Continuum 15 here.

Purchase your ticket here.

Nebula Award Winners 2018

Here they are, the winners of the 2018 Nebula Awards, announced in Los Angeles at the SFWA Awards conference in May 2019. This is yet another recommended reading, and more, list.


WINNER: The Calculating Stars, Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)

The Poppy War, R.F. Kuang (Harper Voyager US; Harper Voyager UK)
Blackfish City, Sam J. Miller (Ecco; Orbit UK)
Spinning Silver, Naomi Novik (Del Rey; Macmillan)
Witchmark, C.L. Polk ( Publishing)
Trail of Lightning, Rebecca Roanhorse (Saga)

Read moreNebula Award Winners 2018