Norma K Hemming Award Winners

The winners of the 2018 Norma K. Hemming Awards were announced June 8, 2018 at Continuum 14, in Melbourne.

Short Fiction (stories up to 17,500 words)

  • WINNER: “Coral Bones”, Foz Meadows (Monstrous Little Voices)
  • “Induction”, Thoraiya Dyer (Bridging Infinity)
  • “The Rock in the Water”, Thoraiya Dyer (Fantasy 12/16)
  • “Braid”, Kirstyn McDermott (Review of Australian Fiction Volume 24, Issue 1)
  • “Tea Party”, Lauren E Mitchell (Defying Doomsday)
  • “Memories of Fish”, Shauna O’Meara (Interzone 5/17)
  • “Two Somebodies Go Hunting”, Rivqa Rafael (Defying Doomsday)
  • “Did We Break the End of the World”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Defying Doomsday)

Long Work:

  • WINNER: Terra Nullius, Claire G. Coleman (Hachette)
  • The Barrier, Shankari Chandran (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Defying Doomsday, Tsana Dolichva & Holly Kench, eds. (Twelfth Planet)
  • Crossroads of Canopy, Thoraiya Dyer (Tor)
  • An Uncertain Grace, Krissy Kneen (Text)
  • Portable Curiosities, Julie Koh (University of Queensland)
  • How to Bee, Bren MacDibble (Allen & Unwin)
  • An Accident of Stars, Foz Meadows (Angry Robot)
  • The Grief Hole, Kaaron Warren (IFWG Australia)

The Hemming Award is presented by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF) to “recognise excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a published speculative fiction work.”

For more information see the Hemming award website.